Wednesday, July 17, 2024

Next Tech Awards: Recognizing exceptional performers and rising stars in North Carolina

Business North Carolina collaborated with NC TECH to create the Next Tech Award to recognize North Carolina’s rising stars in our state’s tech and tech-enabled companies. The award is meant to spotlight those individuals who often work in the trenches of an organization, and who keep pushing projects and objectives forward.

Supervisors and colleagues submitted nominations for the inaugural awards and a selection committee picked 10 winners in one of three categories: tech and innovation, tech professional and sales and marketing. The winners solve problems at work, make teams better and contribute in ways that are not a formal part of the job description.

These 30 profiles of the winners share typically what these individuals do at their jobs, their motivations, those who inspire them, advice on how to succeed in tech as well as their passions outside the office. In many cases, those efforts outside work help others or advance a worthy cause, such as encouraging more women to seek job opportunities in technology.


James Alberque
Mike Albritton
Jamie Howard
Martin Keen
Manny Landron
Ada Lopez
Cruz Nuñez
Jennifer Shevach
Julia Ward
Kristen Winterhalter


Ashleigh Anderson
Liv Evans
Jenny McLean
Carrie Murphy
Tricia Ory
Randy Smith
Kautily Vats
Chi Vo
Caitlin Walsh
Shari Whitaker


Amber Cobb
Michelle Coviello
Sam Ellis
Lisa Marie Ferrell
Jacob Gray
Vequain Joyner
Mary Judge
Debbie Near
Becky Scott
Manny Veloza

Related Articles