Thursday, May 30, 2024

Golden Corral CEO Lance Trenary receives Lifetime Achievement Award

The North Carolina Restaurant and Lodging Association recognized Golden Corral President and CEO Lance Trenary with its Lifetime Achievement Award at its annual Stars of the Industry event Monday night in Durham.

Trenary has been at Raleigh-based Golden Corral a total of 35 years. He was elected chairman of the National Restaurant Association last year.

The restaurant and lodging group gave out a total of 18 awards during the ceremony at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel. This year’s winners were selected based on their service, leadership, innovation and dedication to the restaurant and lodging industries.

Golden Corral President and CEO Lance Trenary received the North Carolina Restaurant and Lodging Association’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

“We are so proud to recognize the hardworking people in the hospitality industry,” said association President and CEO Lynn Minges in a statement. “The challenges never stop, but this group of men and women kept innovating and changing to keep their businesses and our industry up and running.”

Two members of the North Carolina General Assembly, Senate President Pro Tem Phil Berger and Rep. John Bradford, R-Mecklenburg, were recognized for their leadership. Their support resulted in thousands of businesses getting back $500 million in hospitality business grants last year, according to the association.

Other honorees recognized included North Carolina Agriculture Commissioner Steve Troxler, who won the Hospitality Partner of the Year, Angus Barn owners Van Eure and Steve Thanhauser, who won the Ken Conrad Award for Service to the Community, and Dave Gronewoller from GC Partners in Winston Salem, who took home the Griff & June Glover Award for Service to the Association.

In addition to running their businesses, this group spent time protecting and advancing issues related to the hospitality industry across the state, according to the association.

The 2023 NCRLA Stars of the Industry award recipients are:

Restauranteur of the Year 

  • Scott Crawford, Crawford Hospitality

Lodging Operator of the Year: 

  • Gary Chhabra, CMC Hotels

Hospitality Partner of the Year 

  • Steve Troxler, Department of Agriculture

Ken Conrad Award for Service to the Community 

  • Steve Thanhauser & Van Eure, Angus Barn

Griff & June Glover Award for Service to the Association 

  • Dave Gronewoller, GC Partners Inc.

Restaurant Managers of the Year:  

  • Igor Gacina, Giorgios Hospitality Group
  • Ashley Greene, Bluewater Waterfront Grill

Restaurant Employee of the Year:  

  • Matthew Barry, Midwood Smokehouse

Lodging Managers of the Year 

  • Jason Whitaker, Extended Stay America
  • Mike Masri, Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte Uptown

Lodging Employees of the Year:  

  • Charles Prince, TownePlace Suites Wilmington
  • Regina Triche, Hampton Inn & Suites Jacksonville
  • Faustina Tagoe, The Umstead Hotel and Spa

Hospitality Champions of the Year 

  • Rep. John Bradford
  • Sen. Phil Berger

NCRLA Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Lance Trenary, Golden Corral


Related Articles